

NEWS FROM NOAA

NATIONAL OCEANIC & ATMOSPHERIC ADMINISTRATION • US DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Contact: Connie Barclay 301-713-2370

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE June 27, 2008

Commerce Announces 2008 Ocean Fishery Council Appointments

The Commerce Department today announced the appointment of 21 members to the eight regional fishery management councils.

The councils, established by the Magnuson-Stevens Fishery Conservation and Management Act, prepare fishery management plans for marine fish stocks in their respective geographical areas of responsibility. NOAA's National Marine Fisheries Service reviews, approves and implements the management plans on behalf of the Secretary of Commerce.

"Knowledgeable council members representing a variety of interests and willing to work together for sustainable fisheries are a key part of the fisheries management process," said Jim Balsiger, Ph.D., acting director of NOAA Fisheries Service. "Our continued hard work with the councils will help us in our efforts to end overfishing by the year 2010, as required by the Magnuson Stevens Act. I am pleased to announce this group of highly qualified and dedicated individuals to serve on the eight regional fishery management councils, and plan to start working together right away."

Council members represent diverse interests, including commercial and recreational fisheries, as well as environmental, academic and other perspectives from each geographic area. The Secretary of Commerce appoints a total of 72 obligatory and at-large members to the eight regional councils. Council members serve three-year terms, and may be reappointed to serve up to three consecutive terms. Approximately one-third of the terms expire annually.

Each year on behalf of the Secretary, the director of the National Marine Fisheries Service solicits nominations from the governors of fishing states, and oversees the annual appointment process. The Secretary selects council members from the list of nominees provided by the governors to fill obligatory and at-large seats that have become available due to an expiring term, a resignation or other reasons. Obligatory seats are state-specific, while atlarge seats can be filled by a person from any of the states in the region.

New England Council

The New England Council includes members from the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Rhode Island. The appointees for 2008 fill four at-large seats.

At-large seats:

*Michael P. Leary – New Hampshire James J. Fair, Jr. – Massachusetts *John W. Pappalardo – Massachusetts Mary Beth Nickell-Tooley – Maine

Mid-Atlantic Council

The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and Virginia. The appointees for 2008 fill obligatory seats for Maryland, North Carolina, New York and Pennsylvania and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seats:

Howard J. King, III – Maryland John G. McMurray – New York Jule D. Wheatly – North Carolina *Eugene J. Kray – Pennsylvania

At-large seat:

Patrick H. Augustine - New York

South Atlantic Council

The South Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Florida, Georgia, North Carolina and South Carolina. The appointees for 2008 fill two at-large seats.

At-large seats:

*George J. Geiger – Florida

*David M. Cupka - South Carolina

Caribbean Council

The Caribbean Council includes members from the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The appointee for 2008 fills an obligatory seat for Puerto Rico.

Obligatory seat:

*Eugenio E. Piñeiro-Soler - Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

Gulf Council

The Gulf Council includes members from the states of Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas. The appointees for 2008 fill three at-large seats.

At-large seats:

*Robert L. Shipp – Alabama

Edward W. Sapp – Florida

*Joseph P. Hendrix, Jr. – Texas

Pacific Council

The Pacific Council includes members from the states of California, Idaho, Oregon and Washington. The appointees for 2008 fill an obligatory seat for Washington and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seat:

*Mark V. Cedergreen – Washington

At-large seat:

*Rodney H. Moore - Oregon

North Pacific Council

The North Pacific Council includes members from the states of Alaska and Washington. The appointees for 2008 fill obligatory seats for Alaska and Washington.

Obligatory seats:

*Eric A. Olson - Alaska

John J. Henderschedt – Washington

Western Pacific Council

The Western Pacific Council includes members from the American-flagged Pacific islands of American Samoa and Guam, the state of Hawaii and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. The appointees for 2008 fill two at-large seats. The appointee for the

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands obligatory seat will be announced at a later date.

At-large seats: *Frederick E. Duerr – Hawaii David G. Itano – Hawaii

*Reappointment

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, an agency of the U.S. Commerce Department, is dedicated to enhancing economic security and national safety through the prediction and research of weather and climate-related events and information service delivery for transportation, and by providing environmental stewardship of our nation's coastal and marine resources. Through the emerging Global Earth Observation System of Systems (GEOSS), NOAA is working with its federal partners, more than 70 countries and the European Commission to develop a global monitoring network that is as integrated as the planet it observes, predicts and protects.

###

On the Web:

NOAA Fisheries Service: www.nmfs.noaa.gov

NOAA: www.noaa.gov

The 2007 Report to Congress on Apportionment of Membership on the Regional Fishery

Management Councils: http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov/sfa/reg_svcs/councils.htm